Game Over for Ender’s Game

 

As a boy, I remember daydreaming about being a hero. There were times that I imagined myself as either a warrior or leader of an army. But, these visions were understandably fictitious in nature. They never came to fruition.

But, what if boys can ACTUALLY be leaders or warriors? What if they can be commanders of their own fleets? Their boundless imagination coupled with being fearlessness will undoubtedly make them formidable. This is the premise behind the movie Ender’s Game.

The film tells the story of a young Ender Wiggin, a gifted tactician but who possesses a troubled soul. He apparently is Earth’s last hope against an alien race called Formics.

In the movie, Ender is trained to be the supreme commander of Earth’s invasion force against the Formics. He goes through rigorous training in order to fulfill his role.

I don’t want to give away anything too much, but suffice it to say that he accomplishes the goal set out for him albeit through surprising means. I’ll leave it at that and allow those reading this blog post to either read the book or watch the motion picture.

Moving on to the film itself, its CGI is first rate. The action is satisfactory.

But, the motion picture isn’t insulated from flaws. It can be boring at times and a bit dragging. The mood may be a bit too dark as well. The brooding of its main protagonist, as seen on film, was too much. So of I’m asked if this is a must see film, my answer is that it isn’t. It’s alright to miss this one and wait for the DVD copy.

Ender’s Game didn’t blow me away like Catching Fire. I left the cinema saying that it was okay. At least, I got to be comfortable for almost two hours. I would rather have that than be stuck in holiday rush traffic.

 

Leave a comment